My Collection of Books by Everyman's Library

image85

Bookstores Where I Have Found My Everyman's!

A Shout-Out to my Beloved Bookstores

Aside from the magic in reading the books themselves, bookstores are where the rest of the magic and joy of my Everyman’s Library collecting hobby resides. Just as I have often sought out and discovered new parts of a town or a city or a distant state when searching for a great craft brewery – many located in places I would have never discovered otherwise - it is in the same light that I have also discovered scores and scores of amazing new and used bookstores up and down the eastern seaboard of the United States.


Along the way, I have not only pieced together approximately half of the entire Everyman’s Library classic collection, but even more importantly, I have formed friendships for life, found bookstores that I will forever treasure and continue to visit, and am honestly, a wiser and richer and luckier person for the experiences I would not have had otherwise without this Everyman’s hobby.


To all of these bookstores listed below - to their owners and valuable employees that make their stores little slices of heaven - I owe a debt of gratitude. Your contributions to your customers and your communities are invaluable.

The Bookstores!

MY EAST COAST BOOKSTORE STOMPING GROUNDS (North to South)


Vermont


Yankee Book Shop – Woodstock – New – www.yankeebookshop.com

Crow Books – Burlington – Used – www.crowbooks.com

Phoenix Books – Burlington – New – www.phoenixbooks.biz


Massachusetts


Raven Used Books – Cambridge – Harvard Square – Used – https://ravencambridge.com

Harvard Book Store – Cambridge – Harvard Square – New and Used – www.harvard.com

Harvard COOP – Cambridge – Harvard Square – New – https://store.thecoop.com

Grolier Poetry Book Shop – Cambridge – Harvard Square – New and Used – www.grolierpoetrybookshop.org

Porter Square Books – Cambridge – Porter Square – New – www.portersquarebooks.com

Rodney’s Bookstore – Cambridge – Central Square – Used – www.rodneysbookstore.com

Trident Booksellers & Cafe – Boston – New – www.tridentbookscafe.com

Brookline Booksmith – Boston – Brookline – New – www.brooklinebooksmith.com

The Bookstore – Lenox – The Berkshires – New – http://bookstoreinlenox.com

The Bookstore at The Mount – Lenox – The Berkshires – New – www.edithwharton.org

The Bookstore of Gloucester – Gloucester – New – www.thebookstoreofgloucester.com

Manchester by the Book – Manchester by the Sea – Used – http://manchesterbythebook.com


New York


Westsider Rare & Used Books – NYC – Used – http://westsiderbooks.com

The Strand – NYC – New and Used – www.strandbooks.com

Housing Works Books & Café – NYC – SoHo – Used (and is a non-profit) – www.housingworks.org/locations/bookstore-cafe

Barnes and Noble - NYC - Union Square - New - www.barnesandnoble.com

McNally Jackson – NYC – SoHo – New – www.mcnallyjackson.com

Codex Books – NYC – Bleeker Street – Used – http://codexbooks.info/about

Shakespeare & Co. – NYC – Hunter College/UES – New – www.shakeandco.com/shake_trade/home_page.php

Corner Bookstore – NYC – UES – New – http://cornerbookstorenyc.com

Barnes and Noble - NYC - 86th St. - UES - New - www.barnesandnoble.com

Book Culture – NYC – Four Locations – New and Used – www.bookculture.com/

East Village Books - NYC - East Village - Used - www.buyusedbooksnewyork.com

Mercer Street Books - NYC - Washington Square - Used - www.mercerstreetbooks.com

Barnes and Noble - NYC - 82th St. - UWS - New - www.barnesandnoble.com

BookOff - NYC - Midtown - Used - www.bookoffusa.com

Spoonbill and Sugar - NYC - Brooklyn - Williamsburg - New & Used - www.spoonbillbooks.com

Book Thug Nation - NYC - Brooklyn - Williamsburg - Used - www.bookthugnation.com

Human Relations - NYC - Brooklyn - Bushwick - Used - www.humanrelations.com

Better Read than Dead - NYC - Brooklyn - Bushwick - Used.

Molasses Books - NYC - Brooklyn - Bushwick - Used.

Unnameable Books – NYC – Brooklyn – Prospect Heights – Used – http://unnameablebooks.blogspot.com/


Pennsylvania


DogStar Books - Lancaster - Used - www.dogstarbooks.com

Joseph Fox Bookstore – Philadelphia – Rittenhouse Square Area – New – www.foxbookshop.com/


Maryland


Normal’s Books & Records – Baltimore – Used – www.normals.com

Vintage Books & Fine Art - Easton - Used -www.facebook.com/VintageBooksMd/

Unicorn Bookshop - Trappe - Used - www.unicornbookshop.com


Washington DC


Riverby Books – Capitol Hill – Used – http://riverbybooksdc.com

Capitol Hill Books – Capitol Hill – Used – www.capitolhillbooks-dc.com

Second Story Books – Dupont Circle – Used – www.secondstorybooks.com

KramerBooks & Afterwords Cafe – Dupont Circle – New – http://kramers.com/


Virginia


Riverby Books – Fredericksburg – Used – www.riverbybooks.com

Chop Suey Books – Richmond – Carytown – Used – www.chopsueybooks.com

Barnes and Noble - Richmond - Libbie Place - New -www.barnesandnoble.com

Prince Books – Norfolk – New – www.prince-books.com

Mermaid Books – Williamsburg – Used – www.mermaidbookswilliamsburg.com

Blue Whale Books – Charlottesville – Used – www.abaa.org/booksellers/details/blue-whale-books

The Book Bin – Onley – New – www.bookbinva.com


North Carolina


Old Books on Front Street – Wilmington – Historic Front Street – Used – www.oldbooksonfrontst.com


South Carolina


Bookends – North Myrtle Beach – Used – www.bookendsonline.com

Beach Books & Videos – North Myrtle Beach – Cherry Grove - Used

Barnes and  Noble - North Myrtle Beach - New - www.barnesandnoble.com

Mr. K’s Used Books, Music & More – North Charleston – Used - http://mrksusedbooks.com/

Blue Bicycle – Charleston – King Street - New and Used – https://bluebicyclebooks.com/


Georgia


E. Shaver’s Books – Savannah – New – www.eshaverbooks.com

The Book Lady Bookshop – Savannah – Used – www.thebookladybookstore.com

Book Nook - Marietta (Atlanta) - Used  - https://www.facebook.com/Book-Nook-Marietta-152592014801318/


Tennessee


McKays - Nashville - Used - www.mckaybooks.com

Rhino Books - Nashville - Used - https://rhinobooksellers.com/


Michigan (Found these gems on a random trip to the Midwest)


John K King Books – Detroit – Used – www.johnkingbooksdetroit.com

Literati Bookstore – Ann Arbor - New – www.literatibookstore.com

West Side Book Shop – Ann Arbor – Used – www.abaa.org/booksellers/details/west-side-book-shop


ENGLAND - London


Hatchards – London - Mayfair – New – www.hatchards.co.uk

Waterstone – London – Mayfair – New – www.waterstones.com

Foyles – London – Piccadilly Circus – New – www.foyles.co.uk

South Kensington Books - London - New - www.kensingtonbooks.co.uk

Daunt Books - London - New - www.dauntbooks.co.uk/marylebone


ENGLAND - Cambridge


G. David’s Bookshop – Cambridge – Used – www.davidsbookshop.co.uk

Waterstone – Cambridge – New – www.waterstones.com

Plurabelle Books – Cambridge – Used – www.plurabellebooks.com

Heffers – Cambridge – New – https://twitter.com/heffersbookshop


Bonus - An Article about Heffers Bookshop in Cambridge:

Here’s an article about Heffers Bookshop in historic Cambridge – an interview conducted in 2016: 

https://lithub.com/interview-with-a-bookstore-heffers-bookshop/

  

SCOTLAND – Edinburgh


Armchair Bookshop – Edinburgh – Used – www.armchairbooks.co.uk

Main Point Books – Edinburgh – Used – www.mainpointbooks.co.uk

Waterstones – Edinburgh – New – www.waterstones.com/bookshops/edinburgh-west-end

Blackwell’s Bookshop – Edinburgh – New - https://blackwells.co.uk/bookshop/home

Till’s Bookshop – Edinburgh – Used – www.facebook.com/tillsbookshop

Type Wronger Books – Edinburgh – New - www.typewronger.com

McNaugtin’s Bookshop & Gallery – Edinburgh – Used - https://mcnaughtans.co.uk/


And without further ado…


I am almost certain I have missed many, but will add them and give a proper shout-out when I think of them – or better yet, run across and visit bookstores in the future.

Book Nook - Marietta/Atlanta - Used - www.facebook.com/Book-Nook-Marietta-152592014801318/

Barnes & Noble

Too many to list – but especially Barnes and Noble – Libbie Place in Richmond, VA  and three in New York City – the 86th Street store on the UES, the 84th and Broadway store on the UWS, and the big one downtown on the north side of Union Square, just to name a few! www.barnesandnoble.com

Amazon

Yes, I have even bought some Everyman's Library books from Amazon - but no, I'm not listing the website - figure it out! Call or visit your local, community bookstore and order your Everyman's gem throughout them, even if it costs a few more dollars.  (Or if you want a possible discount like Amazon, call Everyman's Library in London (+ 44 (0) 20 7840 8463) and if you are willing to spend $10,000 for the 400 Classics, maybe there's a wee-bit of a discount - or at least a free, canvas Everyman's tote thrown in to the deal!

Your Favorite Bookstores

What are some of your favorite bookstores?  Where might you have found a treasure trove of Everyman's Library - or any great books for that matter?  Reach out to me in the contact page and tell me all about them - the city, new or used, stories of great "hauls," etc, etc!